International Research Unit for Multilingualism
print

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Content

Between Research and Practice

The International Research Unit for Multilingualism was founded by Prof. Claudia M. Riehl, who holds the chair of German Linguistics with a focus on German as a Foreign Language. Prof. Riehl is currently head of the research unit and of the Institute for German as a Foreign Language at Ludwig Maximilians University in Munich.

bild_prof_riehl




Multilingualism is an important resource in our globalized world. It is an essential asset both for the individual and for society. In contrast to Central Europe, multilingualism is the default case in many other regions of the world.


However, there are only a few institutes in Europe that explicitly deal with multilingualism from an academic perspective since research is mainly carried out in individual philologies. The International Research Unit for Multilingualism (IFM) aims to close this research gap in the Federal Republic of Germany. In addition, it seeks to establish a strong network with individuals and institutions both in the educational and private sector.

Downloads

Internationale Forschungstelle Mehrsprachigkeit
print

Sprachumschaltung

Navigationspfad


Inhaltsbereich

Zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis

Die Internationale Forschungsstelle für Mehrsprachigkeit wird von Prof. Claudia M. Riehl geleitet, Inhaberin des Lehrstuhls für Germanistische Linguistik mit Schwerpunkt Deutsch als Fremdsprache und Leiterin des Instituts für Deutsch als Fremdsprache an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München.


bild_prof_riehlMehrsprachigkeit stellt eine wichtige Ressource in unserer globalisierten Gesellschaft dar. Sie hat sowohl für den Einzelnen als auch für die Gesellschaft große Bedeutung. Im Gegensatz zu Mitteleuropa ist in vielen Regionen der Welt Mehrsprachigkeit der Normalfall.

Gleichzeitig gibt es aber in den universitären Strukturen weltweit, aufgrund der Einteilung in einzelsprachliche Philologien, nur einige wenige Institute, die sich wissenschaftlich explizit mit Mehrsprachigkeit beschäftigen. Die Internationale Forschungsstelle für Mehrsprachigkeit IFM möchte diese Forschungslücke für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland schließen. Zudem zielt sie auf eine starke Vernetzung mit Akteuren aus der Bildungspolitik und der freien Wirtschaft.

Digitale IFM-Flyer